Who Cares?


If you would rather read this message, the words are provided below…


Not long ago, I posted an article about Christians and the use of marijuana. In response to my article, I received one comment in particular that disturbed me and left me disheartened. A man by the name of Russell claimed to be a Christian and essentially told me he didn’t like my article. I’m not bothered by the fact that someone didn’t like my message – many people are going to reject the message I bring. In fact, GOD’s Word tells us that we will be rejected and possibly persecuted on His behalf just as He had been (Matthew 24:9-13; Philippians 1:20-21,29-30; 1Thessalonians 3:3-4). What upset me was that this man claimed to be a Christian yet opposed my Christian message. I will first share his comment regarding my article so his argument can be known in his own words and then I will respond to that comment.

“Let me give you a better Christian perspective… Who cares? Let’s focus on loving our neighbors and spreading the good word. Marijuana is a very non-essential issue and I respect that you said that, even though I disagree with your prospective. I am a Christian and I do not see any difference between marijuana and alcohol. We obviously know there is nothing unbiblical about alcohol since Jesus drank wine at virtually every meal he partook in and turned water into wine. It is very hypocritical to not apply the same rules to marijuana. The key to both is moderation and both can be used in moderation. Here is an example, 2 puffs is like 1 glass of wine, 5 puffs is like 2 glasses of wine, etc. That is not a perfect example since the effects of marijuana are not nearly as strong as alcohol, but it illustrates how both can be used in controlled moderation. And there is a large % of people that can use alcohol and marijuana responsibly. Last, you are way over exaggerating the effects of marijuana. It is not mind altering like your portraying. A few puffs simply gives a relaxing feeling for 15-20min similar to the way drinking a Red Bull gives you a jolt for 15-20. I still have never heard a good argument that responsible use of alcohol or marijuana is any more unbiblical then going to an ice cream parlor and devouring a brownie sundae or going to Starbucks and downing a double espresso latte.”

I want to respond to that comment, but I don’t want to confine this response to Russell alone. Though this response is specifically for Russell, this response is also for all Christians in general.

First and foremost, I’d like to thank you for watching my video,Christians + Marijuana = ?(assuming that you watched the entire video and didn’t comment without first watching the entire video). Second, though your comment left me disheartened, I do appreciate the fact that you took the time to write a comment to me. 

Now, you claim that you are a Christian and so I must take you at your word on the matter. However, if you feel led to challenge your own claim and see if you are in fact in alignment with your claim of being a Christ-follower, see my other article,What Does It Mean To Be A Christian.”

Before I reply to specific points of your comment, I’d like to remind you that anger and argument amongst Christian brothers will not destroy the Gospel, but it can destroy each individual’s testimony and effectiveness in sharing it. With that said, may it be known that I am going to do my best to speak Truth in love (just as we are instructed to do in Ephesians 4:15) and I hope that if you respond to this, you will also do the same.

If I am doing GOD’s will, why would you – as a Christian – oppose my work? However, if I am not doing GOD’s will, then by all means rebuke me and then correct me. Rebuking and correcting another Christian for false teaching is biblical and right (Matthew 18:15-17; Galatians 6:1-2). However, unless you are rebuking me for false teaching, then you’re wasting time and effort to oppose another Christian. In fact, because you have made the claim that you are a Christian and opposed my message on a public platform via social media, I am now compelled to defend what it means to be a Christian on this public platform. I now have to use my valuable time in order to clear up the confusion your comment may cause for unbelievers. I now have to redirect your misguided missile of ‘meh’ that can be seen by the masses. If your comment to me was an attempt to rebuke and correct me, then consider this response your rebuke and my defense as to why your rebuke is without warrant. Had you not made your comment public, I would not have needed to post my response for the public. If you would have written to me privately, I could have responded privately. But as it is, I now must post a public response just in case someone is confused by your comment. 

You stated that a “better Christian perspective” is “who cares?” Who cares?! I now need to rebuke you for that careless comment that is often the center of complacency. Perhaps it is because you do not care that you do not understand the importance of this message. We – Christians – are to live by example (Titus 2:6-8). You stated correctly that Christians are to love others and share the Gospel. However, I exhort you to watch my other video,Superhero: What Is Love?, which clearly explains that we are to never cause anyone else to stumble.

Like it or not, believe it or not, small things tend to build up and become bigger issues. And because the small things matter, even this seemingly insignificant topic of marijuana matters. Everything matters! You also stated that there is no difference between marijuana and alcohol because they’re both acceptable in moderation. As I explained in my other article,Should Christians Drink Alcohol?, the key is not moderation; rather, the key is love for others and an unwillingness to ever cause someone else to stumble.

I’m not saying that marijuana and alcohol is literally sin being consumed; rather, I’m saying that a loving Christian should be willing to let go of worldly desires (that we won’t need in Heaven anyway) in order to direct others to healthier lifestyles here on Earth, but more importantly, to their eternal salvation in Christ.

Please correct me if I’m wrong, but by the context clues of your comment, it seems evident that you are simply unwilling to let go of worldly desires that bring you mere moments of pleasure. Are you willing to let go of your worldly desires in order to ensure that you will never cause someone to stumble? Or are you more concerned with pleasure than purpose, for self-satisfaction than others’ salvation? Are you a slave to your desires? I challenge you to see my other article,Break Every Chainand test yourself to see if you are a slave to your desires.

If you are a Christian, I admonish you to get rid of your “who cares” attitude and start caring more than you currently do. Again, you were correct to say that we need to love others and share the Gospel, but we need to care more for others than for self if we are to be an accurate reflection of the love of Christ. I also challenge you to see my other article,Reflection And Direction – what we reflect determines our projected path. You need to take into consideration that our actions determine how others perceive Christians and Christianity and how our actions play a vital role as to whether or not unbelievers will receive the Gospel we are called to share. What do unbelievers think when they see Christians acting just like everyone else in the world? There is an absolute moral standard and Christians are called to be set apart to live righteous lives.

Now, a common substitute for true righteousness is self-righteousness. And I can understand how one might perceive that I am being self-righteous. I get it. But that’s simply not the case. Hear me out… Self-righteousness is the opposite of what GOD desires. Self-righteousness makes a list of rules and checks them off, and then congratulates self on how ‘good’ he/she is doing compared to others. That’s pride, not righteousness. The Pharisees were masters of self-righteousness, but Jesus had harsh words for them:

Woe to you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! For you are like whitewashed tombs, which outwardly appear beautiful, but within are full of dead people’s bones and all uncleanness. So you also outwardly appear righteous to others, but within you are full of hypocrisy and lawlessness.
(Matthew 23:27–28) -ESV

To pursue righteousness means we must recognize that we cannot please GOD in our sinful state (Romans 8:8). We turn from trying to justify ourselves by our good deeds and instead seek the mercy of GOD. We desire that He transform our minds (Romans 12:2) and conform us “to the image of His Son” (Romans 8:29). In the Old Testament, men were declared righteous when they believed GOD and acted on it (Genesis 15:6; Romans 4:3; Galatians 3:6; James 2:23). Before Pentecost (Acts 2:1–4), people pursued righteousness by keeping GOD’s Law, seeking holiness, and “walking humbly with GOD” (Micah 6:8). No one was justified by rule-keeping but by the faith that enabled them to obey GOD (Romans 3:20; Galatians 2:16; Ephesians 2:8-9).

Likewise, today we are justified by the faith that leads us to Jesus (Romans 3:27-28; 5:1; 10:10). Those who are in Christ continue seeking GOD in order to please Him (Colossians 3:1-17). When we come to faith in Christ, He gives us the Holy Spirit who empowers us to pursue righteousness for its own sake (Acts 2:38). He commands us to “walk in the Spirit” (Galatians 5:16, 25). Walking in the Spirit means we live a lifestyle of total surrender to the Lordship of Jesus Christ. We cultivate the ability to hear GOD and the habit of obeying His voice in everything.

We pursue righteousness when we pursue the character of Christ and desire holiness more than fleshly indulgence. We avoid the temptation to become self-righteous when we understand that true righteousness begins with godly humility (Psalm 25:9). We remember that Jesus said, “Apart from me you can do nothing” (John 15:5). When we spend time in the presence of the Holy and perfect GOD, we become more aware of our own sin and shortcomings. Teeth can be perceived to be white, but a white-strip test comparison will soon reveal the discoloration and impurities that are present and we will see that we’re not so perfect. Pride and self-righteousness cannot remain in the presence of a holy GOD. Pursuing righteousness begins when a humble heart seeks the continual presence of GOD (James 4:10; 1Peter 5:6). The humble and believing heart leads to a lifestyle of righteous action acceptable to GOD (Psalm 51:10). It all boils down to this one question: Are you willing to put others before yourself? In other words, are you willing to let go of your pursuit for pleasure in order to pursue purpose?

I challenge you to set aside time right now to read Romans 14 and 1Corinthians 8. Make up your mind not to put any stumbling block or obstacle in another person’s way. You possess free will and you have freedom in Christ. However, with that freedom, comes responsibility to do right by others. 

“You, my brothers and sisters, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the flesh; rather, serve one another humbly in love.”
(Galatians 5:13) -NIV

In order to serve others in love, sacrifice will be required. Sometimes we must let go of things that we want so that others may get what they need. 

Conclusion:

I rebuke you for your careless comment, “who cares?” I care! And if you’re upset because I care, you need to ask yourself if you care enough. What does that say about you? You care that I care because you don’t want to care yet you care enough not to care to come at me because I care. Do you see me wearing a shirt that says, “Come at me, bruh!”? No. I’m not the enemy, bro. He who receives me receives the One who sent me. You may not care about the small things, but I care about everything that possesses the potential to affect everyone. I had once lived on the other side and dwelled in darkness, but I came out of the cave of darkness as a more-than conquerer in Christ. As someone who used to be a darkness dweller, I am able to tell you from experience that Satan is subtle; evil is deliberate. All the small things matter because everything matters. Satan doesn’t care about the majority of your collective decisions throughout your lifespan; Satan only cares about the final deciding moment that will determine your eternity. But many people end up sliding down the slippery slope into Hell because compromise slowly led them beyond the boundary of righteousness to the point of no return. But the closer we grow and come to Christ, the farther away we will be from Satan’s slide. Satan always sells his slide as a fun ride. Understand this: ‘fun’ is subjective and needs to be placed in proper perspective. The danger in disregarding the small things is that subtle shifts can create a big gap over time. And if you happen to be on the wrong side of the great chasm that is fixed for all eternity, you will be like the rich man of Luke 16:19-31.

You told me it is “very hypocritical” not to apply the same rules to marijuana as we do for alcohol. I agree. I do, however, apply the same standards – I abstain. I don’t do this because I believe I’m better than everyone else. I do this because if I am able, I should also be available. What I find to be hypocritical is when those who claim to be Christians proclaim they love people and want others to be saved yet they are unwilling to die daily to themselves, take up their crosses, set aside their desires, and willingly sacrifice for those they claim they love (Matthew 16:24-25; Luke 14:27; Galatians 2:20; 5:24). Too many people attempt to justify their selfish decisions because they don’t want to let go of mere moments of pleasure that will soon pass and never satisfy the soul. Understand this: we do not live righteous lives in order to show off how ‘good’ we are and glorify ourselves; rather, we strive to be righteous through love and obedience to GOD and out of love for others. I know who I am because I know who GOD is.  I do what I do because it is our call of duty. Who cares? GOD cares. I care. And you should too. Christians should care; in fact, Christians should care more than those in the secular society. In my mission as a messenger of GOD, I refuse to willingly place a stumbling block in front of those who are lost in the darkness yet seeking the Light. And that should be your mission as well. We should be doing everything possible to help the lost enter by the narrow gate:

Someone asked him, ‘Lord, will only a few be saved?’ He replied, ‘Work hard to enter the narrow door to God’s Kingdom, for many will try to enter but will fail. When the master of the house has locked the door, it will be too late. You will stand outside knocking and pleading, “Lord, open the door for us!” But he will reply, “I don’t know you or where you come from.” Then you will say, “But we ate and drank with you, and you taught in our streets.” And he will reply, “I tell you, I don’t know you or where you come from. Get away from me, all you who do evil.” There will be weeping and gnashing of teeth, for you will see Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, and all the prophets in the Kingdom of God, but you will be thrown out. And people will come from all over the world—from east and west, north and south—to take their places in the Kingdom of God. And note this: Some who seem least important now will be the greatest then, and some who are the greatest now will be least important then.’ ”
(Luke 13:23-30; see also Matthew 7:13-14) -NLT

You have free will. If, by your free will, you place a stumbling block in front of others and they live a life of sin because of your actions, you’ll be held accountable. We’re all going to be accountable to GOD. I’m going to be held accountable for my sins. But I do not ever want to hear that I caused someone to live a life of sin because I made sin seem satisfying and somehow acceptable. I’m not even going to gamble with money, let alone with peoples’ lives or eternities. The entrance is narrow. What are you willing to risk for the sake of mere moments of pleasure? This is all about love for others. I implore you to seek GOD and to stay in alignment with His will. 

8 thoughts on “Who Cares?

Leave a comment